History and Present Status

The name of this Society is The Physical Society of Republic of China (PSROC) and its mission is to strive for the progressive development and popularization of the physical sciences. The society was founded on June 15, 1958, according to the Civil Organizations Act of the Ministry of the Interior. The society is located in the Physics Department National Taiwan University at No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd., Zhongzheng Dist., Taipei City 100, Taiwan (R.O.C.). In 2012, membership totaled 1,935 members, comprising 329 life members, 468 regular members, and 1,138 student members. This was double the number of members of 2001, when there were 808 members. The society has established a board of 21 directors and five supervisors, all of whom are teaching and research personnel of universities or research institutes. The society publishes a bimonthly English version of the Chinese Journal of Physics (founded in 1963) and a Chinese version of the Physics Bimonthly (founded in 1979).

In addition to striving to improve the quality of academic research papers in the Chinese Journal of Physics, the Society spares no efforts in promoting physics and popular science education. To take the Physics Bimonthly as an example, no matter whether content or editing or art design, a high standard is maintained and its subscribers already include the general public. At the same time, the Society holds many educational activities and academic seminars, including its own Annual Meeting. The Society has also been a long-time participant in the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics and the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies, as the Republic of China in these international organizations. Each year, the Society also holds activities for nomination, including PSROC fellow and candidates for academicians of Academia Sinica. In addition, the Society also award outstanding thesis of graduates and undergraduates, best poster presentation at Annual Meeting, and Wu Chien Shiung Scholarship.

For the promotional activities of the academic affairs above, the Society has established four divisions and six committees under the board of directors to promote related activities and affairs. The established divisions and committees include: Division of Academy (responsible for academic activities and selection affairs), Division of Development (underneath which are International Affairs Committee, Physics Education Committee, Committee on Women in Physics, and Public Affairs Committee), Division of Publication (underneath which are the Chinese Journal of Physics Editorial Board, the Bimonthly Editorial Board, and the Network Working Group), and Division of Finance and Personnel. The Society is a well-organized and active civil social organization.

The Society delegates the planning and execution of promotional activities beneficial to academic affairs to each committee, including the publishing plans of the Chinese Journal of Physics, the publication and promotion of the Physics Bimonthly, the website and promotion of women in physics research, the Annual Meeting of the Society, the public affairs forum, the promotion of educational activities in physics, and the development of international affairs.


Tenure Name Organization
1963~1966 Yun-Guei Dai  
1967 Sheng-Heng Fang  
1968~1974 Yun-Guei Dai  
1975~1976 Yi-Yan Li National Tsing Hua University
1977 Kang-Pei Wang National Taiwan University
1978 Poh-Kun Tseng National Taiwan University
1979~1980 Edward Yen National Tsing Hua University
1981 Kang-Pei Wang National Taiwan University
1982~1983 Yuan-Jhong Liou National Tsing Hua University
1984 Kang-Pei Wang National Taiwan University
1985~1986 Yuan-Jhong Liou National Tsing Hua University
1987 Keh-Ning Huang Academia Sinica
1988 Huei-Li Huang National Taiwan University
1989 Gwo-Jen Jan National Taiwan University
1990 Huan-Chiu Ku National Tsing Hua University
1991 Wan Sun Tse Academia Sinica
1992 Shih-Lin Chang National Tsing Hua University
1993 Yi-Shiung Gou National Chiao Tung University
1994 Tien Tzou Tsong Academia Sinica
1995 Maw-Kuen Wu National Tsing Hua University
1996 Yeong-Der Yao Academia Sinica
1997 Yang-Fang Chen National Taiwan University
1998~1999 Darwin Chang National Tsing Hua University
2000~2001 Cheng-Chung Chi National Tsing Hua University
2002~2003 Shih Chang Lee Academia Sinica
2004~2005 Ching-Ray Chang National Taiwan University
2006~2007 Ting-Kuo Lee Academia Sinica
2008~2009 Ray-Nien Kwo National Tsing Hua University
2010~2011 Jung-Chun Huang National Cheng Kung University
2012~2013 Yee Hsiung National Taiwan University
2014~2015 Fu-Jen Kao National Yang-Ming University
2016~2017 Minn-Tsong Lin National Taiwan University
2018~ Chih-Ta Chia National Taiwan Normal University